I Never Knew How To Love

True Love Relationship
I Never Knew Love Until I Met Jesus

We easily fool our self by our emotions, we think we can love someone by our own human abilities. We buy them flowers, take them on dates, dance, lovemaking, kiss, feel loved, fight, make-up and you know the rest.

But is it not that we do all these out of our own self-goodness, self-seeking, self-fulfilling of our own desires? Is it not the ever burning desire for some one to fill the emptiness in us?

Many times we wrongly lie to ourselves that these acts are all true, which, in the reality all these acts are not genuine true but self-seeking satisfaction. Most of these deeds are done out of our own selfishness.

Wanting something from the other person. Could be sex, power, loneliness, boredom, appreciation, to feel important, to feel beautiful, to feel loved and the list goes on. Without Jesus, all is selfishness and pointless.

You might ask me how dare I call all of these selfishness without Jesus? All these things that we indeed uses to show affection without Jesus are simply selfish acts. And I am sorry if I have offended you with this, but it is the truth. You can not offer something that you do not have; True Love.

Without Jesus, True love can not be there. Here is a test for this:

Try ask yourself if you would still buy flowers when you wife doesn’t deserve them? Would you still want to date her, if all that she is good at is complaining? Would you still want to dance with her, while all she does is stepping on you, hurting you with every move she makes? Tell me if you will love her when her emotional love for you fades, for she found someone else who makes her feel like sixteen years old lady again, falling in love? Would you still kiss her, if her mouth is full of lies? Would you give your life, even when you don’t fell loved by her?

My answer is simply no and I bet yours is so to without Jesus! It is easy to love someone in the sunny times, where everything is just going your way. Our marriage vows, for better, “easy, I love you honey!” But for worse and the worst! We are not so good at those moments.They are the rainy days, which often, and seemingly overflowing all bright and happy moments we once shared.
Seeing light at the end of the tunnel without Jesus is impossible.

Amazingly Jesus did, and is doing it now. He loves you and I, with love we do not understand, and we are simply not worthy of His love. A love which my wife and I do cry and pray for everyday. A Love that is Christ-like, a Godly centered marriage. Loving us despite of our continues rebellion against Him.

We crucified Him, He still loves us, we betray Him, He still loves us, we hide from Him, He seeks us. Even when we deny Him, He accepted us.

Greater love has no one than this, that someone(Christ Jesus) lay down his life for his friends.”John 15:13

He loves us when our love, and passion and burning first-love emotions for him fades. He loves us when we love other things then him, he loves us when all we good at is complaining. He loves us even when we do our best to do everything we ought not to do. He simply can’t help it but to love us; True Love.

“In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins” 1 John 4:10

At the cross, Christ Jesus gave us the Flower, Beaten, Crushed, Reject, Betrayed, Died and Rose again, taking God the Father’s anger away from us. Substituting our wickedness and selfishness acts we committed, are committing and will commit with His perfect righteous life. So that when I stand on that Day, God will not see my wicked and selfish deeds but His Son’s deeds.

For this I know, God The Father’s Amazing Grace in Christ Jesus

Given Love To Love

He gave as eternal life; that who ever reach and touch the beautiful flower of salvation, will be counted right with God. The Ultimate undeserved and unconditional love; The True Love.
With Jesus, I can love. True Love that I have from Him I can offer. I can give flowers to my wife, without strings attached. Loving her above my selfishness, loving her as Christ loves me. In Christ Jesus I can love her for better or for worse. In Christ I can offer her True Love which now dwells in me as I abide in Christ.

As from Paul’s First Letter to Corinth 13

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.

And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.

If I give away all I have, and if I deliver my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient and kind; love is not jealous or boastful;

it is not arrogant or rude. Love does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;

it does not rejoice at wrong, but rejoices in the right.

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends; as for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away.For our knowledge is imperfect and our prophecy is imperfect;

but when the perfect comes, the imperfect will pass away.

When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; when I became a man, I gave up childish ways.

For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall understand fully, even as I have been fully understood.

So faith, hope, love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

I never knew love until I met Jesus.

Whoever confesses that Jesus is the Son of God, God abides in him, and he in God.
And we have known and believed the love that God has for us.
God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God in him.
Love has been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness in the day of judgment; because as He is, so are we in this world.
There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love. We love Him because He first loved us. (1 John 4:15-19 NKJV)

In Christ Jesus whom we have learnt to love and in Him we are empowered to love be the glory.

P.S: To all Husbands and Wife, My wife and I pray that your relationships will always be God- centered, because only through Christ Jesus can the Rainy days be turned to praise and worship.

For what ever God unit will never be broken! May God hold our marriages.

2 thoughts on “I Never Knew How To Love

Comments are closed.