Anselm: Great Mind, Great Devotion

As  my understanding of who God is increases, my prayers and devotions changes. I began praying, worshiping and devoting differently than I did before, as my theological understanding expanded.   The way I approached God or relate to other people around me expeditious changed.  It affects my marriage, profession and personal behavior.

Anselm of Canterbury

In this article, I would share one of outstanding Christian philosopher and theologian of the eleventh century,  Anselme de Canterbury(1033-1078, Father of Ontological Argument) opening of his devotion.

Come now, thou poor child of man, turn awhile from thy business, hide thyself for a little time from restless thoughts, cast away thy troublesome cares, put aside thy wearisome distractions. Give thyself a little leisure to converse with God, and take thy rest awhile in Him. Enter into the secret chamber of thy heart: leave everything without but God and what may help thee to seek after Him, and when thou hast shut the door, then do thou seek Him. Say now, O my whole heart, say now to God, I seek Thy face; Thy face, Lord, do I seek(Ps 27:9)

Come now then, O Lord my God, teach Thou my heart when and how I may seek Thee, where and how I may find Thee? O Lord, if Thou art not here, where else shall I seek Thee? but if Thou art everywhere, why do I not behold Thee, since Thou art here present? Surely indeed Thou dwellest in the light which no man can approach unto.(1 Tim 6:16)

But where is that light unapproachable? or how may I approach unto it since it is unapproachable? or who shall lead me and bring me into it that I may see Thee therein? Again, by what tokens shall I know Thee, in what form shall I look for Thee? I have never seen Thee, O Lord my God; I know not Thy form. What shall I do then, O Lord most high, what shall I do, banished as I am so far from Thee? What shall Thy servant do that is sick for love of Thee, and yet is cast away from Thy presence?(Ps 51:2)

He panteth to behold Thee, and yet Thy presence is very far from him. He longeth to approach unto Thee, and yet Thy dwelling-place is unapproachable. He desireth to find Thee, yet he knoweth not Thy habitation. He would fain seek Thee, yet he knoweth not Thy face. O Lord, Thou art my God, Thou art my Lord; and I have never beheld Thee.(Devotions of Saint Anselm Archbishop of Canterbury. Edited to fit blogging style)

Read again, and try to absorb the depth in Anselm’s relationship with God(the greatest conceivable being) in his devotion. The more one know God, the deeper ones adoration flows out.

The heavens declare the glory of God,
and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.
Day to day pours out speech,
and night to night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech, nor are there words,
whose voice is not heard.
Their voice goes out through all the earth,
and their words to the end of the world.
In them he has set a tent for the sun,
(Psalm 19:1-4 ESV)

Oh God, pour onto me the thinking mind that leads to loving and treasuring you more. With a great mind, falls great devotions.

5 thoughts on “Anselm: Great Mind, Great Devotion

  1. Prayson.
    This comment is not about the subject above,it is about a blank email you sent me yesterday,nothing ZERO was on it.I could not find an email address to let you know you sent a blank email so i am using this comments section to let you know.You sent it by a “No Reply email address.Call this an ad homein.attack if you want to but the blank email was about like the blank non-thinking answers you gave me about another subject,a big NOTHING!
    JAY

    • Dear Jay,

      I am sorry to hear that you found a blank email from me. I still have not found out why my site sent you a blank email.

      Deeply sorry and thank you for letting me know.

      Maranatha,
      Prayson

    • Hej Jenny,

      It is not Anselm’s passage that affected my “marriage, profession and personal behavior” but “the knowing more about God”. The more I knew Him, the more I love Him and the more I wanted to know God more.

      I used St. Anslem to show this affect, the relationship between knowing and loving God.

      Thank you for the comment 🙂

Comments are closed.