Changing Dippers For The Glory of God

How can I appreciate and delight in God as I change my daughter’s dippers? And mostly when I have already done it 8th times in just 2 hours? 🙂

Richard L. Pratt, Jr., captured the spirit of Paul’s message in 1 Corinthians 10:31 as he reasoned that “Paul summarized his outlook into two principles. First, whether or not believers partake, they must do it all for the glory of God. The chief end of human beings is the glory of God; his honor should be the principle concern of those who love him (Deut. 6:5; Matt. 22:37)”.[1]

Pushing the boundaries of the application of 1 Corinthians 10:31 in our daily lives, does Paul mean, I should change our(Lea and I) one month old daughter’s, Eloise, dippers for the glory of God?

As I pondered 1 Corinthians 10:31, Colossian 3:17 “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”(ESV), came to mind. Not only do I have to change Eloise’s dipper for the glory of God but in the name of the Lord Jesus and giving thanks to God the Father.

Changing dippers is a simple task. I, as a month newly father, could simply do it without thinking about it. But I wanted more. I wanted to delight, enjoy and take pleasure in all I do for the glory of God. I did not want to change Eloise’s dipper because I had to, but because I love to.

Commenting on Colossian 3:17, Max Anders wrote: “The life transformation process is to include any and all areas and activities of life. In all places, in all ways, the believer is to honor the name of the Lord Jesus. […] Genuine spirituality is found in having our lives transformed into the character of Christ.”[2]

Looking in our daughter’s eyes, when she is smiling or crying, I could not deny the infinity awesome and amazing joy and love she brings in our lives. Joy and love that I never thought exist in me. Every time I change her dippers, she stares at me with her beautiful mom’s-brownish color eyes. It was in those staring moments that I found my delight and joy in changing her dippers. I started working wholeheartedly, as for the Lord and not for me. As a result, I found out that I began to change her dipper not only for the Lord but also for me. I love changing her dippers, for every time I do it, I do it for the glory of God who has blessed us with such a joy.

Questions:

If you are a parent, how did you find joy and delight in changing your child’s dipper? (Mostly when is at midnight or many times in a short period)

If you are a theologian, did I apply 1 Cor. 10:31 and Col. 3:17 correctly? Give reasons.


[1] Pratt, R. L., Jr. (2000). Vol. 7: I & II Corinthians. Holman New Testament Commentary; Holman Reference (170). Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman Publishers.

[2] Anders, M. (1999). Vol. 8: Galatians-Colossians. Holman New Testament Commentary; Holman Reference (332). Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman Publishers.

3 thoughts on “Changing Dippers For The Glory of God

  1. Just thought I’d stop by and let you know I watched A Beautiful Mind last night. Terrific film, with yet another brilliant performance by Russell Crowe. Complex, interesting, thoughtful, and touching. A keeper for sure. 🙂

  2. What a joy to do anything and everything for our ‘child’ (or any little one) For truly everytime you look at a baby you realize what an awsome God we have…Diane

Comments are closed.